Bri’s Hella Holo for Brie!

Sharing is caring. The polish to be featured today was one that was going unloved by a woman that I know and she lovingly let me take off of her hands. It’s from a brand called Liquid Sky Lacquer. This is an indie brand based out of the United States and is run by a lovely woman named Carolyn. I think it’s cute that on the bottles it says “Liquid Sky Lacquer, [the name of the polish] by Carolyn”. It gives it a little bit more of that indie feel to be connected in that way to the maker.

IMG_0739

Bri’s Hella Holo is a gorgeous smoky grey colour. On the website it does say that it is black. I wouldn’t go as far as saying that this is a black holographic polish because it definitely looks a lot more grey to me. Black holographic polishes are incredibly hard to make though. The reason for this is that holographic pigment will naturally grey whatever base colour it is in. So, a white holographic polish will look like a very light grey and a black one would look like a deep dark one. I have seen darker than Bri’s Hella Holo though. Something like Black Tea and Texas Gold by Colors by Llarowe comes to mind. I must admit that I mostly bought this polish for the name. My nickname that is used by members of my family is Brie.

IMG_0718

I love this smoky grey colour. It probably wasn’t perfect for this time of year though. In the fall it will be fantastic. I love spring because of the nice sunny days but there are still quite a few grey rainy days happening still though. Thankfully, while I have been wearing this. The weather has mostly cooperated and been sunny for me. I wish the weather here was more predictable so that I could only wear holographic polishes on those days.

IMG_0716

Application was beautiful. It went on smoothly and made me want to buy more from Liquid Sky Lacquer. I knew buying this would be dangerous. I had to do very little cleanup for this wonderful result. The polish was not too thin and not too thick. It was also wonderfully opaque. I did two coats to reach full opacity. For top coat, I used HK Girl by Glisten & Glow. It didn’t dull this fantastic holo at all and gave a nice glossy finish. The only thing that I find with this top coat is that I need to reapply every day or two to maintain this beautiful shine.

IMG_0720

Oh wow! Carolyn was not joking when she named this “Hella Holo”. The holographic pigment in this polish is definitely saturated. I don’t think she could have packed any more in without making the polish feel grainy. Thankfully, even before I applied topcoat, this polish was smoother than a babies bottom.

I was just so smitten with this polish right from the word go that I had to share it with everyone. I will probably do some stamping on top of this mani because I’ve been trying to do that with all of my manicures to build up my stamping skills. If I do stamp and don’t fail too miserably, I will share that in a post with all of you soon.

 

One thought on “Bri’s Hella Holo for Brie!

Leave a Reply

