Duck! Duck! Mallard!

Today’s manicure that I’m sharing was one that I did in April. April was my birthday month! This means a little more than just that my birthday happened in April. I’m in a cute little group on Facebook that consists of only a handful of ladies, eleven at the moment. We each have a month that is our month. In that month, the other ten ladies send the birthday girl a present. I received a lot of polish in that month and it made for some fantastic manicures! So, even though April is long over, I love these manicures so much that I’m going to share them with you as well.

IMG_0712

Mallard was my first polish from piCture pOlish. This company is based out of Australia and makes a lot of fantastic collaborations with bloggers. I know I’m just a small fish in a big pond and have been very scatter brained with my reviews. So, I have no delusions that I will be one of these bloggers but I think it would be a crazy experience to team up with a polish maker. Back to talking about Mallard though. Mallard was a collaboration with The PolishAholic.

IMG_0548

Mallard is an amazing forest green with gold flakies scattered throughout. It’s subtle but amazing. I loved how it looked in the bottle but even more so once it was on my nails. The above picture was taken in direct lighting using a “daylight” bulb. I love how it showed the depth in the colour. The application was fantastic as well. I did do a little bit of cleanup along my cuticle and missed a couple spots along the tips on my fingers (oops!) but it was a smooth application. I did use two coats in total but it was very close at one to being opaque. In the past I’ve had problems with flakie polishes dragging on the second coat but this one was beautiful.

IMG_0547

The above photo was taken in my kitchen, April was not a very sunny month this year. I love that you can see how packed the bottle is with flakies and can get the full depth of it when you look at my pinkie finger. This was my first piCture pOlish but I can guarantee you that it will not be my last. These do run a little on the expensive side given that the bottles are actually quite small. I guess you have to think of it as an investment in quality though. In Canada, you can buy piCture pOlish on Nail Polish Canada and they range from $13 to $16.50. The nice thing about Nail Polish Canada is that they have free shipping within Canada for everything though.

5 thoughts on “Duck! Duck! Mallard!

    • I think you knew how stoked I was on this one. I think I was more excited for this one, the A Endlands, and the EdMs that I got for my birthday than the Enchanted Polishes that found their way to me. No offense to Enchanted though.

  1. April was my birthday month too! Happy birthday!
    This is a gorgeous polish. I haven’t tried any from this brand yet, but I’m always amazed at how pretty they are.

    • Happy Birthday to you too! April is a good month for a birthday. Spring is my favourite time of year. I love the shift in weather and moods.
      Definitely look into piCture pOlish. I now have two of them and they’re both fan-freakin-tastic!

Leave a Reply

