Cheers To The New Year.

Happy New Year to all. Yes, this may sound like an awkward phrase to be saying at the end of May but for me it’s not really. My year seems to roll over at my birthday (the end of April). I have never been one to change things in January. That’s the depths of winter and usually by then I’ve developed bad habits and got into such horrible ruts that there is no way of digging myself out until the sun, literally, comes out. So, my birthday is the time of year that I make changes.

IMG_0673

This is a much better setting for making changes than the dregs of winter!

I’m sure some of you have noticed my horrible neglect for this blog. Don’t worry, I have to! For the last few months, I haven’t been in much of a sharing mood. I haven’t been neglecting trying out new things with my nails but it just wasn’t something that I wanted to put out into the world. That leads into some of the changes that I have made in my life. I must admit that this lack of wanting to share probably stemmed from my mostly sedentary lifestyle. In the winter, it was dark and gross here and I just didn’t want to be physically active. I bussed to and from work and worked my but off while there but there was no activity for the sake of activity.

April rolled around and I decided that I wanted to stop feeling crappy. I needed a change but also needed to decide on what to do for that change. I decided my commute to work needed to change. I bought myself a road bike for my birthday with the intention of switching over to biking to work every day. I was so excited! It’s incredible the difference exercise makes in how you feel. I started slow around my birthday and biked 3 day per week for the last two weeks of April. It was difficult but I assured myself that it was not as bad as if I had decided to do this with my older bike, a Fuji Crosstown 4.0. When May rolled around, I went with no safety net. I didn’t buy a buss pass. Instead, I bought a booklet of tickets to allow myself one day a week of rest.

This is Matilda! She's my new road bike.

This is Matilda! She’s my new road bike.

The effects that this physical activity have had on my metal wellbeing has been immense. I am sleeping better, waking up earlier, and just generally feeling energized. I don’t have a long commute, 5.25km each way, but it’s enough to really jumpstart my system. I have been doing this a month and it’s hit the point where I’m becoming comfortable doing it and might even go as far as saying that my body craves the activity. I noticed my body needing it this past weekend. I went from Thursday to Sunday with no bike ride and I just generally felt off. I didn’t feel sick or anything like that. I just didn’t feel awesome. I’m not saying that I’m fully enjoying my commute. I enjoy my ride to work. It’s mostly downhill. My ride home is not as enjoyable because it is mostly uphill. I do feel good once I get home though. I’m sure with continued work I will get to the point where I enjoy my ride home too.

So, the general conclusion here is this: No, I am not turning this into a fitness blog. I still want to talk about all the beautiful little things that I enjoy so much. I do want to get back into blogging here though. I want to show off my pretty nails to everyone who wants to read about it. I want to show you my misadventures in the world of stamping and all the pretty nail polish that I have been hoarding this year. If I come across some amazing new makeup or skin care that I fall in love with, I want to share that too. There are so many new pretties that I have fallen in love with and so many more that I’m sure will come my way. This post to me is somewhat of an apology to the neglect that I have given this blog in the same way that my newfound physical activity is an apology to the neglect that I was giving my body.

Thanks for reading and I look forward to chatting more with you!

Leave a Reply

